Tag Archives: psych-rock

Thee Oh Sees — Drop

John Dwyer’s Thee Oh Sees continue to release album on top of album at a rate of about one a year (sometimes two), each one not much different to the one before, yet each one a slight development, a must … Continue reading

Posted in Album Reviews, Castle Face, Thee Oh Sees | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Listen to Dub Thompson’s Foxygen produced new track Dograces

Foxygen’s Jonathan Rado helped out with the recording of album 9 Songs, from which the wonderful Dograces comes. Displaying a Beck-like loose limbed psych-folk jam, Pitchfork has already compared it to Mark E Smith. Which is always gonna be good … Continue reading

Posted in Dub Thompson, Foxygen | Tagged | Leave a comment

Listen to new Thee Oh Sees track Drop, the title track taken from forthcoming RSD album release

The Record Store Day-released Drop album is to be the last Thee Oh Sees longplayer before the garage psych-twisters take an extended break. Apparently, allegedly. The band this week, err, dropped the album’s title-track via an exclusive  on Stereogum, and it’s the … Continue reading

Posted in Thee Oh Sees | Tagged | Leave a comment

Toy — Join The Dots

Second album from pleasant psych-pop band Toy, again out via Heavenly. The slow jam psych-funk of Conductor begins the album and takes its time– so much for the idea of kicking off a record with a sharp rockin’ blast– building … Continue reading

Posted in Album Reviews, Heavenly, TOY | Tagged , | Leave a comment

Wooden Shjips unveil vid for Back To Land

Hirsute psychers Wooden Shjips put out their new LP Back To Land this week– their fourth studio record– which sees the band carry on down the more danceable, upbeat psych-groove of their previous West record. It is still unmistakably the … Continue reading

Posted in Music Video, Wooden Shjips | Tagged | Leave a comment

Moon Duo — Circles

Moon Duo (spin-off to Wooden Shjips) released this LP at the tail end of the summer; a season– if one is lucky enough to get one- bitter weather forecaster ed– is perfect for this Mary Chain-meets Loop-lite repetitive psych-rock combo. I could … Continue reading

Posted in Album Reviews, Moon Duo, Ones We Missed, Souterrain Transmissions | Tagged | Leave a comment